Scary times

It’s been an odd sort of week.

My first news is of Bonny, a.k.a Gordon, a.k.a my Baby H.  The one and only Hen harrier chick that we all worked so hard to protect last summer in Cumbria.  The one who AutumnWatch made a star.  He’s been missing since 14th December.  Two things confirm this.  Firstly, his satellite tag ceased to transmit.  Secondly, all those watchers who watched out for him and regularly saw him mooching about Cumbria – they never saw him again.  Too much coincidence.  Presumed dead.  Presumed shot.

Of course it broke my heart.  We all knew it would probably happen.  We all accepted he was more likely to be murdered than to survive.  But it doesn’t make it any less painful.  Bonny ‘disappeared’ whilst on dangerous territory.  Driven Grouse shooting territory.  I’ve always been angry about raptor persecution. I just got a whole lot angrier!

The remainder of this blog revolves around one man. Trump.  And as usual, our government.  Why on earth would we wish to trade with such a racist, sexist, bigot?  As part of Europe, we were safe in the knowledge that we would trade with countries who treated their citizens appropriately.  This week, I kept hearing the Tories say “well it looks good to the rest of the world that our leader gets to meet with the US leader first”.  Who gives a damn what the rest of the world thinks?  And actually, I should think the rest of the world think out government a right bunch of plonkers for even flying across the Atlantic to meet with such a psychopath.  Never mind entertaining the idea of doing business with him.

And trade?  What trade?  More weaponry?  Genetically modified foods?  Oh go for it, let’s allow the likes of Monsanto to ruin our farming industry just like they have already in the USA and many poorer countries.  To financially break and threaten our farmers, to destroy biodiversity, to lie about creating more and better food, and to poison us.  Guess what?  Being in Europe protected us from GM produce.

I find the current president of the USA scary. I think the whole world is probably just as scared.  Terrified of what he is capable of. I really feel for (intelligent) Americans right now.  But you are not in this alone, that’s for sure. Whatever devastation this man creates, it will affect us all.  Could his selfish, short-sighted, irrational policies lead to world war 3?  Who knows.  But I do know I would feel a whole lot safer being a part of something bigger, instead of a lonesome little country who’s government is prepared to trade with such a despicable man rather than face the truth.  We are STRONGER IN.

It’s been seven months since the referendum, and I still feel the same way.  If we do leave Europe, The EU will likely crumble.  But if we remained, we could help to rebuild a better, stronger Union.  A slight majority voiced their feelings through the referendum.  That’s fine.  Change is good.  But let’s fix the problems, not run away from them.  Running away just creates so many other problems, and not just for us.  Such as a government that is so obsessed with the economy and trade, that they forget about values.  About ethics, human rights, environmental degradation, health.  What is right and wrong.  Oh, but so long as Britain does not use torture, that’s OK, we don’t care what the USA does.  What?

Let us build bridges not barriers.  Let us fix not flee.  Let us rid ourselves of real problems – such as pollution, greed, climate change, over-population, hunger, Trump.  Together.

About Olivia N Masi

From art college drop-out, to office space-planner, to back-packer, to air stewardess, to brolly babe, to model agent, to wildlife conservationist. How? I've always believed in jumping at every opportunity that comes my way. This has taken me along some bizarre career paths. None of which I regret. I have been to amazing places and met fascinating people. And having worked in the motor sport industry I've sadly experienced too many beloved friends take one adrenalin step too many. I think of them always. I've hung out with pop-stars, sports personalities, and millionaires. I reached a point when nothing but VIP would do. And then something happened. My pops passed away and I felt the need to reconnect with my Italian side. Whilst in Italy, I learnt to be resourceful, to recycle everything, to listen to the valley, to grow my own veg, to catch and tame feral cats, and to follow my heart. My heart led me to a desire to save this beautiful Earth, and all the wonderful life upon it. And so I read, and then I studied with the Open University. I suddenly found myself accepted on a BSc in Wildlife Conservation, having left school with pitiful qualifications. So here I am. A qualified Wildlife Conservationist. A scientist I suppose. I love nothing more than to listen to birdsong, and watch, learn and photograph wildlife. So here is to me getting the perfect job where I can contribute to saving one of Earth's beautiful species. Do I miss the glamour of the old life? The VIP lifestyle? The petrol-head adrenalin? The buzz of being a successful business owner? Only occasionally. Though it seems more like the distant dreams of a previous life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Scary times

  1. Carol Masi says:

    I bet you feel better after writing that!

    Like

Leave a Reply

