Brescia day 7. Birdy cakes

No work today. I dreamed all night. The same dream. With friends, I was exposing government or industry for some corrupt misdemeanor. For this reason they were after us, and I spent most of the night on the run, scrambling through forests… Sound familiar? So I woke up exhausted this morning.

I had a wee walk to a canal and the lake. For the first time all week I was able to get my binoculars out and use them. Moorhen, Mediterranean gull, Cormorant, Mallard, Great crested grebe, Black bird, Great tit, Long-tailed tit, Robin, Chaffinch, and the highlight was Tree Sparrow, now so rare in GB.

Lunch in Bergamo Alto. Now you’d think I’d have gotten away from all the horror, all the bird killing. Ah, not so. Looking into the wonderful cake shop window displays, one gets to see the pretty Polenta & Osei cakes. A Bergamo speciality. They look so cute with a wee chocolate bird sitting on the top. Osei means little birds. Unfortunately the name is literal. It’s not just a pretty name. Robin? Finch? Sparrow? Which do you fancy mushed up in your cake?

This week I’ve been facing two extremes.
1. The absolute lack of empathy for animals. Bird, dog, horse. I do wonder if this kind of man also beats his wife and children.
2. The availability of vegan options everywhere. Even bars in remote mountain villages have vegan pastries and dairy-free milk. They’re way ahead of England on this.
So they cater for folk who don’t want to eat animals, but at the same time are happy to inflict pain on animals or cover for friends and family that do.

Will I come back? Hmm. Right now every muscle in my body is furious. I am exhausted and pale. With a team of mostly Germans, mostly speaking German, I was mostly clueless to what was going on, being planned or discussed. However, I was working with extremely passionate like-minded people. Good people. And whatever the atrocities that we were here to fight we kept each other smiling and laughing. So, once the physical pain is forgotten… Who knows.

Sent from my Sony Xperia™ smartphone

About Olivia N Masi

From art college drop-out, to office space-planner, to back-packer, to air stewardess, to brolly babe, to model agent, to wildlife conservationist. How? I've always believed in jumping at every opportunity that comes my way. This has taken me along some bizarre career paths. None of which I regret. I have been to amazing places and met fascinating people. And having worked in the motor sport industry I've sadly experienced too many beloved friends take one adrenalin step too many. I think of them always. I've hung out with pop-stars, sports personalities, and millionaires. I reached a point when nothing but VIP would do. And then something happened. My pops passed away and I felt the need to reconnect with my Italian side. Whilst in Italy, I learnt to be resourceful, to recycle everything, to listen to the valley, to grow my own veg, to catch and tame feral cats, and to follow my heart. My heart led me to a desire to save this beautiful Earth, and all the wonderful life upon it. And so I read, and then I studied with the Open University. I suddenly found myself accepted on a BSc in Wildlife Conservation, having left school with pitiful qualifications. So here I am. A qualified Wildlife Conservationist. A scientist I suppose. I love nothing more than to listen to birdsong, and watch, learn and photograph wildlife. So here is to me getting the perfect job where I can contribute to saving one of Earth's beautiful species. Do I miss the glamour of the old life? The VIP lifestyle? The petrol-head adrenalin? The buzz of being a successful business owner? Only occasionally. Though it seems more like the distant dreams of a previous life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

