I I U U

It seems the badger cull is coming to Cheshire.

I attended a ‘Badger Cull’ meeting last Friday evening. The venue was Adlington Hall. The owners being badger fans. Not badger culling fans. Attendance was awesome. It was bursting at the seams. And there was a rather good line up of speakers from the RSPCA, Born Free Foundation, Secret World, and Mr Simon King himself. They each blasted us with large doses of facts, figures and information which only increased our desire to fight this pointless government mission to rid our nation of yet another glorious creature that has every right to be here.

If we allow the government to continue, their plan is to eradicate a third of England’s badgers. 30,000 badgers. And as they generally seem to change their rules as they go along, who knows, this could be increased.

So what about all those cattle with TB? Well, I already knew all about the Ineffectiveness of the badger cull. Independent trials and research already proved that culling was pointless. And the government was advised of this. Calculations from all of the research showed that after nine years of killing badgers there would be just a teeny weeny 16% reduction in TB in cattle. Pointless.

Independent research (postmortems) since the culling began has proved that the majority of badgers being shot are taking too long to die. In other words, they are suffering. In plainer words, it is Inhumane, barbaric.

Another interesting outcome since the beginning of the cull, is a dramatic increase in badger persecution in the cull areas. So people who enjoy torturing animals are taking advantage of the badger’s plight.

Culling takes place in counties that already have other control measures. So at the end of their trial culling there will be no way of knowing what, if anything, actually worked. It’s totally Unscientific.

Scientists are full of useful information which our current government is doing it’s best to ignore. Such as: It has never actually been proved that badgers pass TB to cattle; Badgers only suffer from TB when the disease is so rife in cattle that it spills over into wildlife; There are various species/strains of TB, and badgers and cattle don’t necessarily carry the same ones in the same localities; Cattle is moved around the country, where as badgers don’t like to leave home (so who is more likely to spread TB?); TB can live in or on the ground for long periods of time only dying off in cold winter conditions. The main hot-spot for TB is the south west of England (guess what – the south west doesn’t suffer from cold winters as much as the rest of England); The cattle TB testing method is almost pathetic, many animals in the herd can be carriers but do not come up as positive in the current testing system; All mammals can potentially carry TB, why pick on badgers? It is all so Unnecessary.

On Saturday evening I enjoyed the delightful company of badgers. Healthy, intelligent, social, and beautiful badgers.

About Olivia N Masi

From art college drop-out, to office space-planner, to back-packer, to air stewardess, to brolly babe, to model agent, to wildlife conservationist. How? I've always believed in jumping at every opportunity that comes my way. This has taken me along some bizarre career paths. None of which I regret. I have been to amazing places and met fascinating people. And having worked in the motor sport industry I've sadly experienced too many beloved friends take one adrenalin step too many. I think of them always. I've hung out with pop-stars, sports personalities, and millionaires. I reached a point when nothing but VIP would do. And then something happened. My pops passed away and I felt the need to reconnect with my Italian side. Whilst in Italy, I learnt to be resourceful, to recycle everything, to listen to the valley, to grow my own veg, to catch and tame feral cats, and to follow my heart. My heart led me to a desire to save this beautiful Earth, and all the wonderful life upon it. And so I read, and then I studied with the Open University. I suddenly found myself accepted on a BSc in Wildlife Conservation, having left school with pitiful qualifications. So here I am. A qualified Wildlife Conservationist. A scientist I suppose. I love nothing more than to listen to birdsong, and watch, learn and photograph wildlife. So here is to me getting the perfect job where I can contribute to saving one of Earth's beautiful species. Do I miss the glamour of the old life? The VIP lifestyle? The petrol-head adrenalin? The buzz of being a successful business owner? Only occasionally. Though it seems more like the distant dreams of a previous life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

