We can fight and win

I am amazed, stunned, shocked, emotionally overwhelmed.

SeaWorld have announced the end of their captive breeding of Orca (Killer whales). This may seem preferable to taking them from the wild, which used horrific methods. But neither one was forgivable or preferable.

In the wild, offspring have lifetime attachments to their mothers. At SeaWorld they were divided while far too young. Mothers are bred too young. Calves have poor survival rates. Adults have short life expectancies compared to in the wild. And don’t get me started on the whole living in a chlorinated box for your whole life issue.

So SeaWorld have finally woken up and listened to the public, government, celebrities, children and campaigners. As well as no more breeding, they will be phasing out the circus shows. Though I don’t see what else they could do as their stock will get older and die off. With no new youngsters to train, they have no other choice do they!

After years of campaigning against something I have felt so strongly about suddenly reaching its goal, how do I feel..? Hmm. Light-headed, invincible, proud to have been a part of the battle, light (with a heavy load having been lifted from my shoulders), and very emotional. But happy. And it is such a good reminder that when there are injustices, we can fight and win.

The next phase of this battle will be about the remaining captive Orca. Some believe that they should be released in to the wild, regardless of where they were born. Some believe that they should have retirement in super large enclosed marine parks. Personally I would wish for a case by case review. Some of the older Orca were taken from the wild and very likely still have family members who would remember them. Researchers have proved that Orca are truly wonderful and generous and caring when it comes to looking after each other in their family pods. But those that were born in captivity? How do we honestly know how they would fare in the wild? All they have ever seen are concrete walls and dead fish… But does this give us the right to continue playing God and making decisions for them?

Sent from my Sony Xperia™ smartphone

About Olivia N Masi

From art college drop-out, to office space-planner, to back-packer, to air stewardess, to brolly babe, to model agent, to wildlife conservationist. How? I've always believed in jumping at every opportunity that comes my way. This has taken me along some bizarre career paths. None of which I regret. I have been to amazing places and met fascinating people. And having worked in the motor sport industry I've sadly experienced too many beloved friends take one adrenalin step too many. I think of them always. I've hung out with pop-stars, sports personalities, and millionaires. I reached a point when nothing but VIP would do. And then something happened. My pops passed away and I felt the need to reconnect with my Italian side. Whilst in Italy, I learnt to be resourceful, to recycle everything, to listen to the valley, to grow my own veg, to catch and tame feral cats, and to follow my heart. My heart led me to a desire to save this beautiful Earth, and all the wonderful life upon it. And so I read, and then I studied with the Open University. I suddenly found myself accepted on a BSc in Wildlife Conservation, having left school with pitiful qualifications. So here I am. A qualified Wildlife Conservationist. A scientist I suppose. I love nothing more than to listen to birdsong, and watch, learn and photograph wildlife. So here is to me getting the perfect job where I can contribute to saving one of Earth's beautiful species. Do I miss the glamour of the old life? The VIP lifestyle? The petrol-head adrenalin? The buzz of being a successful business owner? Only occasionally. Though it seems more like the distant dreams of a previous life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to We can fight and win

  1. By Mercedes Powell :
    Today, is the best day in all my days on this planet so far. Today all of our hard work has paid off, a break through was made. People all over the world have awoken to the news that we worried might never come. Sea world has officially ended all of its Orca breeding programs. This is a massive victory and I was very emotional this morning. This day is an important day in our history, for it marks the beginning of the end. Let us not forget though, all the other cetaceans at sea world, and indeed at marine parks around the world who still need our help. But the only way is up from here. I want to thank everybody who listened and heard my campaigns, and who chose to make a difference by spreading the word and not buying a ticket. This must continue to happen, as sadly the current Orcas are to remain in captivity. But we can free them, and we can save the others! Never doubt that a small group of committed people can change the world! It just bluddy did! Well done everyone! I want to talk to and hug all my cetacean colleagues worldwide, but I can’t, so I am sending you all virtual hugs and let us all raise a glass together tonight in celebration! 🍻🍾 🍾🍾🍾We done good.

    Like

Leave a Reply

