Plastic Challenge Day 27

My mum visited me last weekend, arriving laden with gifts, thank you mum,  mostly wrapped in plastic – does that count? I would not have purchased any of it. So I guess I am safe.
She left a few things behind in the fridge, such as a plastic bottle of water and a plastic milk carton. I shall not be throwing them away, do not fret. I have already made one of them (the milk carton) in to a hover-fly larvae nursery. See photos. Cut a square somewhere near the top, fill with water, hide in some lost corner of the garden to go skanky. Apparently hover-flies love to lay their eggs in skanky water.

 
I did a big food shop today. I bought a variety of flours, so that I may bake my own bread, pita, cake, cookies, gooseberry crumble, pasta, etc – all were in paper bags. I went to the health store to buy my dairy free cream in plastic free cartons. I visited the green grocer and bought half of the shop, all in paper bags of course … except the lettuce. I confess I bought lettuce in plastic. For three weeks now I have searched for plastic free lettuce. It’s summer. I need salad! I did attempt to grow rocket from seed, but as my cat insists on urinating on the seeds, it’s not going particularly well. So the lettuce is a big fail. I also visited Reeves the Baker. They only have plastic bags to pop your loaf in to, so I went bag free!
 
I’ve also found a wonderful use for the netting bags that onions and garlic often come in. See photo. I’m now hoping that I may get to taste one of my home grown strawberries, as my resident Blackbirds are not very good at sharing!
 
Ooh, I also bought some feed for my veg. The options were liquid form in a plastic bottle or powder form that comes in a cardboard box. Guess which one I bought. Yes, the cardboard of course. I got it home, eagerly opened up the box, and found the powder was in a plastic bag. Aaarrrggghhh!
 
Except for the lettuce, I’ve experienced no real major difficulties in living a plastic free life so far. I am still however working my way through food stock that I already had. There usually is another option though. As with all choices in life. Green grocers, farm shops, bakeries, markets, and growing or making your own. I am making more stuff myself which is fun. I have just attempted a Vanilla Chai Tea cake! But I do appreciate that for some people this would not be feasible, such as a working mum. 
The hardest part is the initial research or searching for a plastic free (or packaging free) option where you live or on-line. But one only has to do that the once for each product. So it can only get easier with time. I’ve actually been enjoying the challenges it has presented to me. And also the responses I’ve been receiving from manufacturers and supermarkets via Twitter, as I’ve been challenging brands to go plastic free! 
In fact every body that I chat to about this challenge is positive and compliments my efforts, agreeing that there is too much single use plastic and too much packaging. Everyone has noticed that supermarket fruit and veg has suddenly become suffocated in plastic packaging. Yet so long as consumers purchase these products, why should the supermarkets and food producers do any different. They only ever feed the demands from their customers. So stamp your feet. Tell them you don’t wish for everything wrapped in packaging. Tell them it is unnecessary and however biodegradable it is, it is still a WASTE. 
 
And to finish off for today, here are a few good reads on the topic of plastic:

 

About Olivia N Masi

From art college drop-out, to office space-planner, to back-packer, to air stewardess, to brolly babe, to model agent, to wildlife conservationist. How? I've always believed in jumping at every opportunity that comes my way. This has taken me along some bizarre career paths. None of which I regret. I have been to amazing places and met fascinating people. And having worked in the motor sport industry I've sadly experienced too many beloved friends take one adrenalin step too many. I think of them always. I've hung out with pop-stars, sports personalities, and millionaires. I reached a point when nothing but VIP would do. And then something happened. My pops passed away and I felt the need to reconnect with my Italian side. Whilst in Italy, I learnt to be resourceful, to recycle everything, to listen to the valley, to grow my own veg, to catch and tame feral cats, and to follow my heart. My heart led me to a desire to save this beautiful Earth, and all the wonderful life upon it. And so I read, and then I studied with the Open University. I suddenly found myself accepted on a BSc in Wildlife Conservation, having left school with pitiful qualifications. So here I am. A qualified Wildlife Conservationist. A scientist I suppose. I love nothing more than to listen to birdsong, and watch, learn and photograph wildlife. So here is to me getting the perfect job where I can contribute to saving one of Earth's beautiful species. Do I miss the glamour of the old life? The VIP lifestyle? The petrol-head adrenalin? The buzz of being a successful business owner? Only occasionally. Though it seems more like the distant dreams of a previous life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Plastic Challenge Day 27

  1. Pingback: Plastic Challenge day 1 and 2 | from Brolly Babe to Wildlife Conservationist …

  2. Pingback: 25 days to go … | from Brolly Babe to Wildlife Conservationist …

Leave a Reply

