Adorable little beings

Monday was freezing. I borrowed an Arctic Expedition jacket which kept me toasty warm all day. But what about the birds? Well, those species or individuals thats are most susceptible to the cold were brought in doors. The old, the young, and the ones that originate from exceedingly hot parts of the world. Straw was renewed and poofed. And shovels were lined up in an easy to get to place.

The Big Freeze came Monday night. It rained in the night, but the ground was so cold that the rain ☔ water froze on impact. It looked just like snow. But it was not snow. No snow angels, men, or balls!

The Magpie geese were comical looking. They are primitive birds. The ancestor to all geese and swans. They lack certain evolutionary adaptations, such as substantial water-proofing on their feathers. On Tuesday morning they were all walking around with icicle feathers.

I had to shovel my way in to aviaries, break ice in ponds to give the birds drinking water, and ensure every bird could reach feed. They all seemed rather happy. Though disgruntled that I purely topped up standard feed, and gave them no treats (they go nuts for millet, it seems to be their version of chocolate!).

The barn was rather full of extra birds all over the place. All nice and warm. The indoor duckery ponds a very sociable scene.

A few swans had to be carried to their pond, as ice walking just proved to be too much for them. They never showed their appreciation.

The overly aggressive Cereopsis geese were still charging at anyone who passed by, though slipping and sliding all over the place. I laughed out loud. They’d do the same to me!

I watched ducks skidding and comically sliding backwards all over the place. I giggled politely behind my hand. Ducks are such cute funny little beings on an ordinary day! It was all too funny, but I didn’t wish to hurt their prides!

Another hilarious site… A Magpie goose hogging a heat lamp like she owned it. Two wee ducks standing nearby, gazing at the said heat lamp, almost like they were hoping the goose would get the hint and budge up a bit!

We spent the whole afternoon ice breaking with shovels. Tough physical work. The ducks delighted in chasing and eating the floating bits of ice. Still playing and still finding pleasure. Adorable little beings.

Sent from my Sony Xperia™ smartphone

DSC_2463_20150217182227068_20150218125739414DSC_2467_20150218125749645DSC_2471_20150218125806760DSC_2470_20150218125758139DSC_2468_20150217181726626_20150218125823296DSC_2462_20150219073524824_20150219073629330
DSC_2472_20150217181625134_20150218125845200DSC_2472_20150217181625134_20150218125845200

About Olivia N Masi

From art college drop-out, to office space-planner, to back-packer, to air stewardess, to brolly babe, to model agent, to wildlife conservationist. How? I've always believed in jumping at every opportunity that comes my way. This has taken me along some bizarre career paths. None of which I regret. I have been to amazing places and met fascinating people. And having worked in the motor sport industry I've sadly experienced too many beloved friends take one adrenalin step too many. I think of them always. I've hung out with pop-stars, sports personalities, and millionaires. I reached a point when nothing but VIP would do. And then something happened. My pops passed away and I felt the need to reconnect with my Italian side. Whilst in Italy, I learnt to be resourceful, to recycle everything, to listen to the valley, to grow my own veg, to catch and tame feral cats, and to follow my heart. My heart led me to a desire to save this beautiful Earth, and all the wonderful life upon it. And so I read, and then I studied with the Open University. I suddenly found myself accepted on a BSc in Wildlife Conservation, having left school with pitiful qualifications. So here I am. A qualified Wildlife Conservationist. A scientist I suppose. I love nothing more than to listen to birdsong, and watch, learn and photograph wildlife. So here is to me getting the perfect job where I can contribute to saving one of Earth's beautiful species. Do I miss the glamour of the old life? The VIP lifestyle? The petrol-head adrenalin? The buzz of being a successful business owner? Only occasionally. Though it seems more like the distant dreams of a previous life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

