Just a regular day

I’m not blogging very often these days I know. Apologies. Here is why…

6.30 am. Breakfast for me and my moggy. Head to the Corncrake aviaries. Prepare for release team arrival. Clean all the bird poo off chairs. Prepare foot dip bucket. Line all the biosecure wellies out in pairs. Lay nets, bird bags and paperwork out ready.

7.15 am. Drive back across the field to meet team vet Yedra and project coordinator/ringer Hannah.

7.30 am. In to the pens to catch Corncrake chicks. Twelve caught, measured, weighed, health checked. Pop two skinny ones in a brand new fresh pen. They’ll stay with me another week to hopefully fatten up. Drive the lucky ones up to their release field. In to the pens to catch another ten chicks. All also processed and released.

10.45 am. Finally the release is over. Head back to base. I’m hungry and tea-thirsty. I order 6 kilos of mealworms and 1000 waxworms (not to satisfy my hunger, honest!). I sieve all the mealworms currently in residence, to remove their poo dust. Load up the truck with mealworms, waxworms, Lundi, water, and clean dishes. Back to the aviaries I go.

12 noon. Arrive at the aviaries and work my way round replenishing all the chick feed. I also replace water feeders with nice clean ones.

1 pm. Back to base. De-poo (again) and feed all the mealworms. Wash all the dishes/pots up. Make fresh Lundi. Finally feed myself.

1.30 pm. Admin time. Updating chick data, organising a release team for next week, telephone conversation discussing chick feed/nutrition, chasing up missing wellies ordered on ebay, updating feed protocol, sending lots of Corncrake related emails.

5.30 pm. Load up the truck with chick feed, dishes and water, again. Head to the aviaries for the third time today. Feed all the naughty chicks (and the well behaved ones too) and refresh all of their water feeders. Ensure each aviary info sheet is up to date and legible. After today’s release I now have 62 chicks in my care.

6.30 pm. Back at base I put any leftover worms back to bed. Wash up all the chick dishes. Make fresh Lundi.

7 pm. Corncrake bird bag wash. More admin. More amendments to feed protocol following feedback from nutritionist. Any left over bits and bobs as I have the day off tomorrow.

9 pm. Finally finish work for today.

Sent from my Sony Xperia™ smartphone

DSC_0697

About Olivia N Masi

From art college drop-out, to office space-planner, to back-packer, to air stewardess, to brolly babe, to model agent, to wildlife conservationist. How? I've always believed in jumping at every opportunity that comes my way. This has taken me along some bizarre career paths. None of which I regret. I have been to amazing places and met fascinating people. And having worked in the motor sport industry I've sadly experienced too many beloved friends take one adrenalin step too many. I think of them always. I've hung out with pop-stars, sports personalities, and millionaires. I reached a point when nothing but VIP would do. And then something happened. My pops passed away and I felt the need to reconnect with my Italian side. Whilst in Italy, I learnt to be resourceful, to recycle everything, to listen to the valley, to grow my own veg, to catch and tame feral cats, and to follow my heart. My heart led me to a desire to save this beautiful Earth, and all the wonderful life upon it. And so I read, and then I studied with the Open University. I suddenly found myself accepted on a BSc in Wildlife Conservation, having left school with pitiful qualifications. So here I am. A qualified Wildlife Conservationist. A scientist I suppose. I love nothing more than to listen to birdsong, and watch, learn and photograph wildlife. So here is to me getting the perfect job where I can contribute to saving one of Earth's beautiful species. Do I miss the glamour of the old life? The VIP lifestyle? The petrol-head adrenalin? The buzz of being a successful business owner? Only occasionally. Though it seems more like the distant dreams of a previous life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just a regular day

  1. Oli, I have to say I really admire you. We met each other during your past life working in the glitzy world of promotions and I just think it is amazing that you’ve followed your dream of conservation and animal welfare and made it a reality. Most people stick to the same things all their lives and don’t worry too much about any internal squeaking to do something they’re passionate about, but you always seem to be perfectly aligned to your desires. I’m really impressed. And, while your day sounds an absolutely exhausting one, I’d love to be as exhausted doing what I love. You’re an inspiration! xx

    Like

  2. OliviaMasi says:

    over-worked or underpaid? But overjoyed!! Tania you are also an inspiration, and your new book looks intriguing! xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

