NOT made in China – intro

My New Year’s Resolution was to avoid purchasing anything made in China for the whole of 2014. Why? Because I am sick to death of their commercial and industrial takeover over of planet Earth. And to prove to everyone I know that it is possible, and not at all difficult.

I have nothing against people from China. So long as they are not the sort who:
Buy/consume tiger bone or rhino horn.
Keep bears squished in tiny cages for their whole lives just so that they can extract their bile.
Make or purchase those sick little key-rings which have baby terrapins trapped alive inside.
And a few other things that involve destroying the environment, reducing biodiversity, or inflicting pain or suffering on live innocent creatures.

So please follow me on my ‘NOT made in China’ adventures through the year, and please feel free to add your own experiences in the comments boxes. So far I have succeeded. Here are a few scenarios.

TKMax. I’ve always found speeding through my sized garments fun. Dislike dislike dislike like, dislike dislike dislike like. But now the ‘likes’ get a whole new search criteria. Where is it made? China China China Vietnam China China China Italy. And you know what, the item I did find (a jumper made in Italy) NOT made in China, felt so much more special.

Shoes. On a recent shopping spree, to find some girly party heels, I entered a House of Fraser shoe department. Lots of posh, gorgeous, and expensive makes. Those brands would surely not be made in China I hear you say.
So let me get this right. Isn’t the whole point of making things in China about getting cheaper labour? So a pair of shoes that retails at £100 in the UK … made by cheap labour. Hmm. There’s a fat profit being made there. But by who? That’s a whole other issue though. I did find the perfect pair of shoes. NOT made in China.
Sent using BlackBerry® from Orange
IMG02595-20140409-2205

About Olivia N Masi

From art college drop-out, to office space-planner, to back-packer, to air stewardess, to brolly babe, to model agent, to wildlife conservationist. How? I've always believed in jumping at every opportunity that comes my way. This has taken me along some bizarre career paths. None of which I regret. I have been to amazing places and met fascinating people. And having worked in the motor sport industry I've sadly experienced too many beloved friends take one adrenalin step too many. I think of them always. I've hung out with pop-stars, sports personalities, and millionaires. I reached a point when nothing but VIP would do. And then something happened. My pops passed away and I felt the need to reconnect with my Italian side. Whilst in Italy, I learnt to be resourceful, to recycle everything, to listen to the valley, to grow my own veg, to catch and tame feral cats, and to follow my heart. My heart led me to a desire to save this beautiful Earth, and all the wonderful life upon it. And so I read, and then I studied with the Open University. I suddenly found myself accepted on a BSc in Wildlife Conservation, having left school with pitiful qualifications. So here I am. A qualified Wildlife Conservationist. A scientist I suppose. I love nothing more than to listen to birdsong, and watch, learn and photograph wildlife. So here is to me getting the perfect job where I can contribute to saving one of Earth's beautiful species. Do I miss the glamour of the old life? The VIP lifestyle? The petrol-head adrenalin? The buzz of being a successful business owner? Only occasionally. Though it seems more like the distant dreams of a previous life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NOT made in China – intro

  1. Tania Ahsan says:

    Hey Oli,
    Hope you’re well. Just wanted to say that one problem I’ve always found with this is that often the raw ingredient for making the clothing – textile, wool etc. – is made in China and then European companies use that material to manufacture their clothing and put a ‘made in Italy’ or ‘Made in Britain’ label on them. Not sure whether they are legally supposed to say where the textile is from or not, but I have a friend whose mother is a seamstress in Greece and she did partwork stitching which would then go to the USA to be sewn together in the final process so they could say ‘Made in USA’ even though most of the work had been done cheaper in Greece. They’re very tricky.
    I have found a few people who make fairtrade stuff, but ideally I’d like to purchase clothing which has material and labour in the UK so even the cargo environmental costs are done away with. Seems a shocker that we have gorgeous wool and the ability to spin/weave cloth here, but our industry has been destroyed and kept down for so long. Do blog if you come across any good companies in your year of not buying Chinese made goods.
    Tx

    Like

  2. OliviaMasi says:

    Argghhh, that is so infuriating. Though I’m not really surprised
    I did notice a sudden flood of clothing brands made in Italy. Now it makes sense!

    Like

Leave a Reply

